Charts
The charts and maps from across the site, each drawn from the same data as on the page it belongs to, which holds its table and its notes.
- Training compute over time
- How far behind open weights are
- Compute thresholds in law
- Where AI datacentres are
- Datacentre electricity to 2035
- Datacentre power by country
- Training runs against published emissions
- Safety research against capability research
- Releases against their system cards
- Tokens processed, as each company states it
- Law that applies to AI, by jurisdiction
Training compute over time
Every notable model with a reported or estimated training-compute figure, on a logarithmic scale. Each step of the axis is ten times the one below it.
Compute figures are frequently estimated rather than disclosed, and Epoch marks its own confidence on each. Faded points are the ones marked speculative. Models whose compute is unknown are absent entirely, which biases the picture toward labs that publish.
Page: Capability
How far behind open weights are
Largest training run to date, all models against open-weight models. 8 months between the overall frontier reaching 3.8e25 FLOP and an open-weight model doing so.
Both lines are running maxima, so a flat stretch means no larger run has been reported, not that anything got smaller. Compute figures are frequently estimates and arrive late, so the right-hand end of the overall line is a lower bound.
Page: Capability
Compute thresholds in law
4 of 6 thresholds were written after a model had already crossed them. Each mark is the day an instrument took its final form.
Whether a model sits above a line is arithmetic on Epoch's compute figures, most of which are estimates rather than disclosures. Nothing here is a legal finding about any model or developer.
Page: Capability
Where AI datacentres are
Every site in Epoch AI's AI Data Centers hub, sized by IT power. The ring is the power planned at the site's last projected stage, the disc the power operating now. Dashed rings are sites the hub does not hold, sized by the capacity their developers state.
- Status
- Under construction, due online Dec 2028
- IT power
- 1.8 GW by Dec 2028
- Facility power
- 2.5 GW by Dec 2028
- Compute
- 5.1 million H100e by Dec 2028
- Chips
- not recorded
- Owner of chips
- Oracle
- Used by
- OpenAI
- Project
- Stargate
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Under construction, due online Jan 2028
- IT power
- 1.6 GW by Jan 2028
- Facility power
- 2.2 GW by Jan 2028
- Compute
- 4.1 million H100e by Jan 2028
- Chips
- Rubin
- Owner of chips
- Meta
- Used by
- Meta
- Project
- Hyperion
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Proposed, due 2027
- Capacity
- Up to 1.44 GW of IT capacity in four stages, each designed for about 540 MVA of total facility demand.
- Developer
- Zerra DC
- Used by
- Anthropic (lease signed, subject to approvals)
- Use
- Inference, as reported by the press
- Power supply
- Grid, through a dedicated connection at Braemar substation, beside the gas-fired Braemar 1 and 2 power stations. Generation contracts for each stage not yet set.
- Cooling
- Air-cooled, closed loop, with no evaporative cooling.
- Location
- Approximate: placed at the town or reported area
- Status
- Under construction, due online Aug 2027
- IT power
- 1.4 GW by Nov 2028
- Facility power
- 2 GW by Nov 2028
- Compute
- 4.6 million H100e by Nov 2028
- Chips
- Rubin
- Owner of chips
- Oracle
- Used by
- OpenAI
- Project
- Stargate
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Proposed
- Capacity
- About 1.3 GW of critical IT load at full build, on about 1.5 GW of planned grid connection.
- Developer
- Firmus
- Used by
- not named
- Use
- not stated
- Power supply
- A 12-year agreement with Gunvor for 600 MW across the first phase of both South Australian campuses, tied to 1.2 GW of new renewable generation and 1.5 GWh of batteries by 2032.
- Cooling
- not stated
- Location
- Approximate: placed at the town or reported area
- Status
- Under construction, due online Nov 2026
- IT power
- 1.1 GW by Nov 2027
- Facility power
- 1.6 GW by Nov 2027
- Compute
- 3.7 million H100e by Nov 2027
- Chips
- Rubin
- Owner of chips
- not recorded
- Used by
- not recorded
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Under construction, due online Mar 2027
- IT power
- 1 GW by Oct 2027
- Facility power
- 1.3 GW by Oct 2027
- Compute
- 2.3 million H100e by Oct 2027
- Chips
- B300, Rubin
- Owner of chips
- Google (speculative)
- Used by
- Google DeepMind (speculative)
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Under construction, due online Dec 2026
- IT power
- 1 GW by Jan 2028
- Facility power
- 1.4 GW by Jan 2028
- Compute
- 2 million H100e by Jan 2028
- Chips
- B300, Rubin
- Owner of chips
- G42 (likely)
- Used by
- OpenAI
- Project
- Stargate
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Proposed
- Capacity
- About 1.0 GW of critical IT load at full build, on about 1.2 GW of planned grid connection.
- Developer
- Firmus
- Used by
- not named
- Use
- not stated
- Power supply
- A 12-year agreement with Gunvor for 600 MW across the first phase of both South Australian campuses, tied to 1.2 GW of new renewable generation and 1.5 GWh of batteries by 2032.
- Cooling
- not stated
- Location
- Approximate: placed at the town or reported area
- Status
- Under construction, due online Dec 2028
- IT power
- 988 MW by Dec 2028
- Facility power
- 1.4 GW by Dec 2028
- Compute
- 2.9 million H100e by Dec 2028
- Chips
- not recorded
- Owner of chips
- Oracle
- Used by
- OpenAI
- Project
- Stargate
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Under construction, due online Dec 2028
- IT power
- 902 MW by Dec 2028
- Facility power
- 1.3 GW by Dec 2028
- Compute
- 2.6 million H100e by Dec 2028
- Chips
- not recorded
- Owner of chips
- Oracle
- Used by
- OpenAI
- Project
- Stargate
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Under construction, due online Dec 2026
- IT power
- 863 MW by Jun 2028
- Facility power
- 1 GW by Jun 2028
- Compute
- 2.9 million H100e by Jun 2028
- Chips
- not recorded
- Owner of chips
- Used by
- Google DeepMind (speculative)
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Under construction, due online Dec 2028
- IT power
- 857 MW by Dec 2028
- Facility power
- 1.2 GW by Dec 2028
- Compute
- 2.5 million H100e by Dec 2028
- Chips
- not recorded
- Owner of chips
- Softbank
- Used by
- OpenAI
- Project
- Stargate
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Proposed, due 2028
- Capacity
- 800 MW of transmission connection. IT capacity not stated.
- Developer
- IREN
- Used by
- not named
- Use
- not stated
- Power supply
- Four 330 kV feeders at the Bundey substation, supporting up to 800 MW.
- Cooling
- not stated
- Location
- Approximate: placed at the town or reported area
- Status
- Under construction, due online Sept 2027
- IT power
- 672 MW by Nov 2027
- Facility power
- 941 MW by Nov 2027
- Compute
- 1.7 million H100e by Nov 2027
- Chips
- Rubin
- Owner of chips
- Microsoft
- Used by
- Microsoft (likely)
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Proposed, due 2027
- Capacity
- 550 MW or more.
- Developer
- NEXTDC
- Used by
- OpenAI (non-binding memorandum of understanding, December 2025)
- Use
- not stated
- Power supply
- not stated
- Cooling
- Closed-loop liquid cooling, using no potable water.
- Location
- Approximate: placed at the town or reported area
- Status
- Under construction, due online Nov 2026
- IT power
- 470 MW by Dec 2027
- Facility power
- 612 MW by Dec 2027
- Compute
- 170,000 H100e by Dec 2027
- Chips
- Ascend 950PR, Ascend 950DT
- Owner of chips
- not recorded
- Used by
- not recorded
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Under construction, due online Feb 2027
- IT power
- 422 MW by Jan 2028
- Facility power
- 570 MW by Jan 2028
- Compute
- 855,000 H100e by Jan 2028
- Chips
- B300, Rubin
- Owner of chips
- Meta
- Used by
- Meta
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Under construction, due online Dec 2026
- IT power
- 304 MW by Jul 2027
- Facility power
- 411 MW by Jul 2027
- Compute
- 347,000 H100e by Jul 2027
- Chips
- B300
- Owner of chips
- Meta (speculative)
- Used by
- Meta (speculative)
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Approved
- Capacity
- Maximum demand of about 288 MW. IT capacity not stated.
- Developer
- Firmus
- Used by
- not named
- Use
- Training and inference
- Power supply
- Tasmanian grid, through three 220 kV lines crossing the site. Supply arrangements under negotiation.
- Cooling
- Direct-to-chip liquid cooling. Dry cooling, with water on about ten hot days a year.
- Location
- Placed on the stated street
- Status
- Under construction, due online Dec 2026
- IT power
- 261 MW by May 2027
- Facility power
- 314 MW by May 2027
- Compute
- 670,000 H100e by May 2027
- Chips
- not recorded
- Owner of chips
- Used by
- Google DeepMind (speculative)
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Under construction, due online Mar 2027
- IT power
- 214 MW by Mar 2027
- Facility power
- 300 MW by Mar 2027
- Compute
- 546,000 H100e by Mar 2027
- Chips
- Rubin
- Owner of chips
- Softbank
- Used by
- OpenAI
- Project
- Stargate
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Under construction, due online Dec 2026
- IT power
- 207 MW by Apr 2027
- Facility power
- 300 MW by Apr 2027
- Compute
- 289,000 H100e by Apr 2027
- Chips
- TPU v7
- Owner of chips
- Cipher Mining
- Used by
- Anthropic
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Under construction, due online Dec 2026
- IT power
- 153 MW by Dec 2027
- Facility power
- 181 MW by Dec 2027
- Compute
- 198,000 H100e by Dec 2027
- Chips
- B300
- Owner of chips
- CoreWeave
- Used by
- OpenAI (speculative)
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Under construction, due online Jun 2027
- IT power
- 92 MW by Jun 2027
- Facility power
- 124 MW by Jun 2027
- Compute
- 233,000 H100e by Jun 2027
- Chips
- Rubin
- Owner of chips
- CoreWeave
- Used by
- OpenAI (speculative)
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Under construction, due online Dec 2026
- IT power
- 92 MW by Dec 2026
- Facility power
- 124 MW by Dec 2026
- Compute
- 265,000 H100e by Dec 2026
- Chips
- Rubin
- Owner of chips
- Nscale (likely)
- Used by
- Microsoft (likely)
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Under construction, due online Jun 2027
- IT power
- 48 MW by Jun 2028
- Facility power
- 67 MW by Jun 2028
- Compute
- 139,000 H100e by Jun 2028
- Chips
- Rubin
- Owner of chips
- Mistral AI
- Used by
- Mistral AI
- Not recorded
- Training or inference, power source, cooling type
- Status
- Approved
- Capacity
- Targeting 150 MW of IT capacity, within a 162 MW campus.
- Developer
- NEXTDC
- Used by
- not named
- Use
- not stated
- Power supply
- not stated
- Cooling
- Direct-to-chip, closed-loop liquid cooling, using recycled water.
- Location
- Placed on the stated street
- Status
- Under construction, due 2027
- Capacity
- 84 MW of critical IT load.
- Developer
- Firmus
- Used by
- not named
- Use
- Training and inference
- Power supply
- Tasmanian grid, which Firmus describes as firmed hydro, wind and solar.
- Cooling
- Primarily direct-to-chip liquid cooling.
- Location
- Placed on the stated street
- Status
- Under construction, due Sept 2026
- Capacity
- 47 MW.
- Developer
- Macquarie Data Centres
- Used by
- not named
- Use
- not stated
- Power supply
- not stated
- Cooling
- Air, liquid and hybrid cooled halls.
- Location
- Placed at the site
- Status
- Proposed
- Capacity
- Two stages: 23 MW of critical IT load, then about 46 MW, drawing up to about 52 MW.
- Developer
- Firmus
- Used by
- not named
- Use
- Training and inference
- Power supply
- Grid, through the adjoining Wesley Vale substation, starting with a 26 MW connection.
- Cooling
- Liquid cooling, with adiabatic coolers and chillers that use water in hot weather.
- Location
- Placed on the stated street
The largest AI sites Epoch has found, mostly in the United States. Epoch estimated in September 2026 that they hold 44% of the world's deployed AI compute, with a 90% interval of 23% to 81%. Power, compute and cost are Epoch's estimates from satellite imagery, permits and company statements; four in five IT power estimates fall within a factor of 1.4 of the true value. The owner is the owner of the chips, not necessarily of the building. Capacity after the date of retrieval is Epoch's projection. Coordinates are read from the hub's map page, which publishes them; the downloads do not. IT power is the power available to the computing equipment; facility power adds cooling and other overheads.
Page: Datacentres
Datacentre electricity to 2035
Electricity used by all datacentres worldwide: the International Energy Agency's estimate for 2024 and 2025, and its Base Case for 2030 and 2035. The 2035 range spans its four cases. The AI portion is marked where the agency states one.
The projections are the IEA's scenarios, and the dashed line joins the years it states without showing a path it publishes between them. The 2024 AI mark is the share of electricity used by accelerated servers, which the IEA uses as a proxy and calls imperfect. The 2030 mark is its AI-focused datacentres in the Base Case, and the 2025 level of that group is not stated in terawatt hours. The two marks are defined differently and are not joined. The 2035 range runs from 700 to 1,700 TWh across the IEA's four cases, and its text does not say which case sets which end. The April 2026 report restates the 2030 total as around 950 TWh.
Page: Environment
Datacentre power by country
AI datacentre capacity by country in Epoch AI's hub, and every datacentre's electricity by region in the IEA's estimate for 2024. The two measure different things.
| Country | Planned | Operating now | Relative magnitude | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 33.1 GW | 12 GW | |||||||||
| China | 2.1 GW | 731 MW | |||||||||
| Malaysia | 1.1 GW | 1.1 GW | |||||||||
| United Arab Emirates | 1 GW | 0 MW | |||||||||
| Portugal | 233 MW | 33 MW | |||||||||
| Finland | 145 MW | 75 MW | |||||||||
| Norway | 134 MW | 42 MW | |||||||||
| United Kingdom | 88 MW | 88 MW | |||||||||
| Indonesia | 72 MW | 72 MW | |||||||||
| Sweden | 48 MW | 0 MW | |||||||||
Show the remaining 2
|
|||||||||||
| Region | Share of world | TWh, computed |
|---|---|---|
| United States | 45% | 187 |
| China | 25% | 104 |
| Europe | 15% | 62 |
| Rest of the world | 15% | 62 |
Power is the capacity a datacentre can draw and electricity is the energy it used, so the tables cannot be converted into each other: neither source states how fully the capacity is used. The hub holds 95 sites and is not a census of datacentres. Europe is the IEA's region and not the European Union. The rest of the world is the remainder after the three regions the IEA names, and includes Japan, for which it gives no share. Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory states 192 TWh for the United States in 2024, 46% of the IEA's world total. Environmental Disclosure Index This site Our own reading of what frontier developers and the operators of their data centres have published about training energy, emissions, power sources and energy per prompt, with permits and press reporting marked separately from company statements. Most cells record an absence. Company figures are self-reported and mostly unaudited, and market-based emissions reflect contracts rather than the grid at the hour of use. Cite AI Safety Tracker, "Environmental Disclosure Index". https://aisafetytracker.org/environment/. Retrieved 23 October 2026. AI Data Centers Epoch AI The largest AI sites Epoch has found, mostly in the United States. Epoch estimated in September 2026 that they hold 44% of the world's deployed AI compute, with a 90% interval of 23% to 81%. Power, compute and cost are Epoch's estimates from satellite imagery, permits and company statements; four in five IT power estimates fall within a factor of 1.4 of the true value. The owner is the owner of the chips, not necessarily of the building. Capacity after the date of retrieval is Epoch's projection. Coordinates are read from the hub's map page, which publishes them; the downloads do not. Cite Epoch AI, "AI Data Centers". https://epoch.ai/data/ai-data-centers. Retrieved 23 October 2026 via AI Safety Tracker, https://aisafetytracker.org/charts/.
Page: Environment
Training runs against published emissions
Every run since 2020 above 1.0e21 FLOP with a compute estimate, by developer, logarithmic scale. 1 of the 24 models at or above 1e25 FLOP has a published training-emissions figure.
Compute is the nearest measured quantity to training energy, not a measure of emissions. Compute figures are mostly Epoch AI's estimates.
Page: Environment
Safety research against capability research
Works indexed by OpenAlex per year by research area, logarithmic scale. In 2025, 14 works on safety, interpretability, evaluation or catastrophic risk for every 100 on frontier models; 330 in 2020.
Counts are keyword matches on title and abstract, not a field classification; each query is printed on the page. The dashed line marks 2026, which is incomplete.
Page: Alignment
Releases against their system cards
Every release Epoch AI lists from the frontier developers since January 2025. 48 of 69 shipped with a system card on the day, 4 had one later and 17 have none.
Whether a card exists, and when it first appeared, is read from each developer's own publications. A card covering a model family counts for each model it names.
Page: Alignment
Tokens processed, as each company states it
Every aggregate token count a company has stated, converted to tokens per month, logarithmic scale. The largest is ByteDance, Doubao models at 5.5 quadrillion tokens a month in June 2026.
No two series count the same thing, and each company uses its own tokeniser. A line joins only one company's figures for one scope.
Page: Usage
Law that applies to AI, by jurisdiction
86 instruments indexed in 11 jurisdictions. 48 are binding law, and 10 of those name AI in their own title.
Counts are of what this index lists, not of all law in force. Australia was indexed first and in more depth than the others.
Page: Policy